Thinking for Assignment 2!

Apparently, we are required to share our ideas about what we are planning for our unit plan.  In all honesty, I don’t mind doing this although I must warn you, it could all change (or go downhill rapidly).  As I am studying with a special education view in mind, I have found it to be a difficult task to decide whether to plan for special education students specifically (for example, in a special school) or take a generic perspective and select a mainstream classroom that may include a couple of students with special needs.  I was initially a bit confused as to the requirements as on one hand, I thought we needed to make a connection with the type of context we would be in on prac placement, but it seems that we can actually make up a situation.

I have decided that it would be in my best interests to plan specifically for students with special needs as I view this as another rich opportunity to plan within my context.  This is what I have so far ….

School:  An Accredited, Independent Autism-Specific School catering for students from Prep to 18 years of age who have a diagnosis of Autism.  Students attend this school alongside their regular setting and participate in either 1, 2 or 3 day programs per week.

Students:  This class consists of 6 boys – three could be described as high functioning whilst the other three require more support, following instructions, social skills and organisation.  The students are very interested in hands-on science-related topics and also have experience with Word, PowerPoint, Google and YouTube.

Staff:  During the implementation of this unit of work, students will interact with myself (as the class teacher), teacher aide, other teachers and teacher aides across the school as well as a “floating” teacher aide who works in the classroom for one session per week.

Learning Objectives: Constructing Knowledge

Year 4 Science Understanding/Biological Sciences

  • Living things have life cycles (ACSSU072)

Transforming Knowledge

Year 4 Science Inquiry Skills/Communicating

  • Represent and communicate ideas and findings in a variety of ways such as diagrams, physical representations and simple reports (ACSIS071)

James seems to have his act together and has made great headways with his initial planning, similarly with Deneal and Tanya.

All the best everyone, happy planning and Happy Easter!

One thought on “Thinking for Assignment 2!

  1. Hi there!
    I’m in the same situation as you with majoring in Special Ed and not really sure which way to approach this assignment. I’m worried that I’m setting myself up for a bit of failure with my selected context… I’ve decided (so far) 8 kids, 3 ASD, one of which is non-verbal, 1 deaf, 1 ADHD, and 3 learning difficulties…thinking I might tone it down a little? I’m really not sure though?
    Tanya

    Like

Leave a Reply

